After a wild championship weekend in college football, Sunday the College Football Playoff Committee announced their final four teams to compete in the playoff games which begin on New Years Day. Here are the official rankings from the playoff committee.

1. Alabama

2. Clemson

3. Ohio State

4. Notre Dame

This announcement means that Alabama will face-off against Notre Dame on New Years Day in the Rose Bowl. It was announced late Saturday night that the Rose Bowl would be moved from Pasadena to Dallas, Texas. The last time Alabama played Notre Dame was back in 2013 in the BCS National Championship game. Alabama defeated the Fighting Irish 42-14. 

105.1 The Block logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

In the 7 year history of the College Football Playoff, Alabama goes into the college football playoff at the number one seed. Also interesting, Alabama has not won a National Championship during an even number year. Alabama opens in this game against Notre Dame as a -17.5 point favorite.

"There's never been a season like this and we hope that there won't be again," Committee chair leader Gary Barta said on ESPN. "We feel that the 4 teams that were selected are strong and we believe that while Texas A&M and Cincinnati had great seasons, the resumes of Ohio State, Alabama, Clemson and Notre Dame were stronger than the others."

Clemson will also matchup against Ohio State in the semi-final round in New Orleans, Louisiana. This is a rematch from the 2019 season in which number 3 Clemson defeated  number 2 Ohio State 29-23.

Alabama will begin their quest for the 18th National Championship on New Year's Day inside of AT&T Stadium at 3 p.m. Tide 100.9 will have coverage beginning with the Tide Tailgate show at 10 a.m with Joe Gaither and 1992 National Championship winning quarterback Jay Barker.

More From 105.1 The Block