On November 27, 2021 Alabama and Bryce Young took down Auburn by a razor thin margin to maintain the Crimson Tide's dominance over the Tigers.

On Tuesday that dominance continued as Young was named the Amateur Athlete of the Year by the Alabama Sports Writer Association over Auburn gymnast Suni Lee.

Young led Alabama to a 12-2 season in his first season as the Tide's starting quarterback. He passed for 4,872 yards with 47 touchdowns and just seven interceptions while leading the Alabama offense.

Lee, an Olympic gold medalist in the 2020 Tokyo Summer Games in the all-around competition, helped the Auburn Tigers to its highest NCAA finish in program history. The Tigers finished fourth behind Lee's 2022 NCAA balance beam championship.

105.1 The Block logo
Get our free mobile app

Young becomes the sixth Heisman Trophy Award winner to claim the honor from the ASWA, meaning every winner of the bronze statue has been recognized since the award's inception in 1974.

Auburn's Bo Jackson (1985), Alabama's Mark Ingram Jr. (2009), Auburn's Cam Newton (2010), Florida State's Jameis Winston (2013), Alabama's Derrick Henry (2015) and Alabama's DeVonta Smith (2020) were the five previous Heisman Trophy winners to take home the award.


According to ASWA president Christopher Walsh the voting was "extremely close", making it Young's second narrow win over Auburn as the Alabama quarterback.

Young was joined in representing Alabama as the ASWA pro athlete of the year was given to Trevon Diggs on Monday.

Alabama Crimson Tide All-Time Sacks Leaderboard

10 Underrated Soul Food Restaurants in Tuscaloosa, Alabama

PHOTOS: Alabama Celebrates #18


More From 105.1 The Block