On Tuesday the Southeastern Conference office made their official announcements for SEC football awards for 2020.

Alabama claimed 6 of the top awards, including coach of the year for Alabama head coach Nick Saban.

[brandedapppromo desktop_description="Enter your number to get our free mobile app" mobile_description="Listen anytime, anywhere. Get the best local news, weather coverage and more with our free mobile app.”


In addition, Alabama wide-receiver Devonta Smith won the offensive player of the year. Many Alabama fans believe that this will not be the only hardware Smith may win this season, as he has a strong case for the Heisman trophy. Smith would finish the SEC season with 1,511 yards receiving and 17 touchdowns.

Defensively, Alabama cornerback Patrick Surtain Jr. was awarded SEC defensive player of the year. Surtain has been stellar on defensive this season for the tide, wrapping up the lead in solo tackles for the conference while also having an interception which was returned for a touchdown against Mississippi State.

Surprisingly not on this list, was place kicker Will Reichard. Reichard has been perfect this season with  extra points and field-goals, 73 for 73 and 12 for 12 respectively. First team coaches place kicker was given to place kicker Cade York from LSU. York is best known for hitting a 57 yard field-goal in a fog to win against Florida.

Here is a full list of the SEC honors courtesy of SECsports.com

Make you sure you stay tuned throughout the College Football Playoffs for coverage from Tide 100.9 beginning on New Years Day with the Tide Tailgate show beginning at 10 a.m. on Tide 100.9 and 95.3 The Bear.






More From 105.1 The Block